The Wingfeather Saga: North! Or Be Eaten by Andrew Peterson (Book 2)

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Click the image to view this book in Goodreads.

First they found themselves On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness. Now they must make their way North! Or Be Eaten . . .

Janner, Tink, and Leeli Igiby thought they were normal children with normal lives and a normal past. But now they know they’re really the Lost Jewels of Anniera, heirs to a legendary kingdom across the sea, and suddenly everyone wants to kill them. In order to survive, the Igibys must flee to the safety of the Ice Prairies, where the lizard-like Fangs of Dang cannot follow. First, however, they have to escape the monsters of Glipwood Forest, the thieving Stranders of the East Bend, and the dreaded Fork Factory. But even more dangerous are the jealousies and bitterness that threaten to tear them apart. Janner and his siblings must learn the hard way that the love of a family is more important than anything else.

Full of characters rich in heart, smarts, and courage, North! Or Be Eaten is a tale children of all ages will cherish, families can read aloud, and readers’ groups are sure to enjoy discussing for its many layers of meaning.

Synopsis from Goodreads.

Many people are often greatly disappointed in debut novels, and even more are disappointed in debut sequels. For beginning the series with such a strong start, I feared I would find this book inferior to the first. Though North! Or Be Eaten is not my favorite book in the series, to call it inferior would be incorrect. It is an awesome sequel to On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness!

“Full of characters rich in heart, smarts, and courage” is quite the expert way of describing each and every character found in this book. From Janner to Nugget, the characters are overflowing with admirable, relatable, and humorous characteristics. In no way were these characters lacking in anything. This is is one of the best parts of this book.

The story of this book has a similar pace to the first one, yet it is quite different from the first one. I’d describe this book as being a journey one takes. It isn’t always exciting or face-paced, but it is always moving. The story in this book is perfectly plotted for the rest of the story to unfold. One can assume by this statement that it ends on a killer of a cliff-hanger.

Among other things, the story-building, world-building, and general intrigue this book possesses are enormous. However, in all fairness, this isn’t my favorite book in the series. It is still good, but North! Or Be Eaten is one of those books in a series that is just necessary to read. It is a huge turning point for many of the characters and begins to direct the story in a new direction. In reiteration, I say that it is crucial to the series!

Triggers: Fighting scenes, briefly touched upon dark magic, and death.

Please keep in mind that the “magic” in this book is very “clearly pictured”, so to speak. Though there is what would be described as “dark magic” in this book, it is very clearly depicted as being just that, dark and evil.

Overall, this is a fantastic read that I recommend for all ages. It is interesting, humorous, heart-warming, saddening, and thrilling!

Thanks for reading guys! Y’all really need to read this series!!

You have any thoughts? Feel free to share them with me in the comment section! God bless!


Wildflower, grow untamed.


5 thoughts on “The Wingfeather Saga: North! Or Be Eaten by Andrew Peterson (Book 2)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s