Let’s Talk Bookish: December 11th

“I’m dreaming of a white Christmas…”

Hello, everyone! I hope you are all having a great week this Christmas season! Today is yet another Let’s Talk Bookish post. Let’s get into it, shall we?

Let’s Talk Bookish is, as described by one of the creators, as a “weekly meme, hosted by me (Rukky @ Eternity Books) & Dani @ Literary Lion, where we discuss certain topics, share our opinions, and spread the love by visiting each other’s posts.”

This question was created by Eleanor@WishingonaStar.

Do you prefer reading classics or contemporaries?

Honestly, it really depends on my mood. However, if I’m in the mood for a deep, thought-provoking, and complex read, I will read a classic, for they carry such traits. On the other hand, if I want and easy yet enjoyable read, I will pick up a contemporary.

Why do you think classics are designated “classics” and studied in school?

I think they are studied for their depth. They are thought-provoking and complex. They are often times books that you don’t forget. I answered a similar question on OnlineBookClub that I’d like to repeat here…

Classics should never die just because some people may think they are invalid to this time and age. Even if they were written in a different era, the humanistic characteristics stay the same. The lessons that are learned in classics such as Little Women, Black Beauty, or Lord of the Rings are lessons that we can always apply to our lives. Classics not only are prime examples of ways people should and shouldn’t act, but their grammar and way of writing are usually flawless. The English language has gone downhill in the past 100 years. Words meant to be used only in sincere circumstances are now used flippantly. Over half of Americans don’t know how to properly use a semi-colon because some people deem it unimportant. Classics are written with such intelligence that it is hard to not learn something from them. Perhaps the generations forget the importance of classics because they don’t understand them. The classics can sometimes be hard to read, but you will always walk away from them a little bit smarter. For instance, if you tackle a Shakespearean piece of literature, you are in for a ride. But what you will learn and understand once you’ve finished you’ll probably remember for a long time. Classics are also, in a way, a glimpse into how the author from years ago perceived the world. It is educational to try and compare the differences between the author’s world, and ours. Somethings will change, somethings won’t. Classics are iconic pieces of literature that should be read by our generation and generations to come.

Well, that is all for today.

What do you think? Are classics superior to contemporaries? Why or why not? I’d love to hear your thoughts! Merry Christmas!!! God bless!

A classic is a book that has never finished saying what it has to say.

Italo Calvino

15 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Bookish: December 11th”

  1. Wow what a beautiful post Millay!! Thank you for doing the discussion prompt I suggested!! Classics are so iconic and there’s a reason they still live on to this day. Classics have influenced me so much, in my writing and in the way I look at the world, so I’m incredibly grateful for them. I’m so glad you did this post, your insights were marvelous! And the quote at the end was perfect 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’m glad that my words were able to motivate you! They can be a difficult, and SOMETIMES boring, undertaking. However, it does depend on your perspective. Granted, classics aren’t for everyone…but they should be. Thanks for reading, Cherelle! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely love how you described classics! I really love reading them from time to time, but not all the time because my head would explode, haha! They’re just so interesting, love this post!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment